In the month of August STRESS BOOGIE went into the studio with a few of his favorite artists: DOX DIGLA, DARIA JONES, DRIFT and NYE TAYLOR. This experience was recorded by RSONIST(HEATMAKERZ). This was to create a song to express how they were feeling about the recent racial incidents in this country. While there, they recorded an immaculate song. I would like to share this song with you all. Some of you may be feeling the same way as these artists were that day. Some of you don't. But It's something that needs to be heard.The name of the song is called FREE. Thanks Always....
Saturday, September 14, 2013
Friday, September 13, 2013
WHAT'S ON YOUR FEET??? Our Fall Picks
So, we've been discussing the weather getting a little bit cooler and it's time to switch the wardrobe. We picked our top shoes we feel are needed for Fall 2013.
Sonja picks her Fall styles for 2013.... These here definitely should be apart of your Fall Fly
Guys, here is what Esco is doing this Fall as the weather breaks... Fall Fly picks are as follow
![]() |
| Printed Bootie |
![]() |
| Black Leather Bootie |
![]() |
| Funky Bootie |
![]() |
| A Simple Heel |
![]() |
| Funky Bright Pump |
![]() |
| Wedge Sneakers |
![]() |
| Printed Slippers |
![]() |
| Riding Boots |
![]() |
| Sexy Thigh High Boots |
Tuesday, August 20, 2013
Style... Women Love It
Earlier today a friend of mine invited me to escort her to a wedding, I declined because of my prior commitment to the March on Washington the same day. She then expressed to me how so many black men between ages 25-35 lack the ability to get dressed for such affairs and it was difficult for her to find a suitable date. I thought about this and said damn this is so true. What happened??? Where did we go wrong as a people??? When did we stop caring how we looked??? Looking back thirty to forty years ago, everyone was sharp no matter the financial class. I would like to express that it's not just men that have dropped the ball... women have in recent times as well. Despite any excuses, taking pride in ones self is so very important to your attitude towards yourself and others. Others will also treat you a certain manner.
When invited places, a man should then polish his shoes and tie his tie... followed by a phone call stating he is ready to match her FRESH. I would like to see more of my people looking dapper more often. Even if you have no style at all and need to be assisted, there are employees at every Macy's around the world to help you do so. Even if you do not know your sizes... speaking of sizes, SMLXL are not real sizes. Example: my shirts are 17- 36/37. The dress shops in your area will help determine every size you may need. There are magazines and experts throughout the Internet to help with anything you may need.
Now get FRESH!!!
As you evolve, so should your fashion sense. The days of spending hundreds of EVERY pair on J 's should be replaced with purchasing Kenneth Cole, Stacey Adams, Ralph Lauren,etc dress shoes for various occasions. It baffles me that a man would have to ask me "Is a button up and slacks alright?" for a wedding! Wth??! Besides a suit, what else are you suppose to wear? The thought of having to teach a grown man what attire is presentable for which event sickens me. There is a BIG world outside of Footlocker and your local wkend club. Versatility works in your favor fellas! A woman LOVES a man who can go from Clark Kent to Superman(everyday gear to being sharp as a steak knife..YES LAWD!) with ease. Most of us women take the time and effort to dress ourselves like grown women even if we are attending a club around the way,why should you get a pass to look like who shot john and forgot to kill him? We like eye candy too. We want to be impressed too. We wana feel like you can match our fly no matter the venue as well. Like Esco stated,there are MANY people out here who are trained to help you. I mean what are you wearing on interviews?(if you have never been on an interview,this blog post is the least of your worries)..All in all,you must dress for success! If you want an above average woman,you cant keep going on looking like the average guy..SUIT UP
This is written by us simply to inspire, motivate and educate....
Thursday, June 6, 2013
Jealousy... it's presence in a relationship
Jealousy is an emotion and typically refers to the negative thoughts and feelings of insecurity, fear and anxiety of the anticipated loss of something the person values, particularly in reference to a human connection. I remember as a young girl, I would find it "cute" when a boy I may have been seeing would anger if a guy looked at me too long, spoke to me too long or got too close. I would laugh with my girls saying "Girl he crazy". Upon becoming an adult and noticing this characteristic in some men I came across, I no longer found it to be funny and that cheerful "Girl he crazy" soon became a "GIRL THIS N*GGA CRAZY!!" So what changed?? Shouldn't your action of showing you're afraid to lose your partner make them feel special?? Help them to understand your depth of love for them?? I've found jealousy to be a double edged sword. Yes we all want someone who's afraid of losing us, someone who has no problem letting it be known that we belong to them. But as I've gotten older, it's become an unnecessary extremity. It's as if some people think you never lived before getting with them. I've had situations where an ex would flip out for me hugging and conversing with someone of the opposite sex that I had known prior to my relationship. I mean this guy was saying "you standing there smiling with this n*gga and sh*t right in my face!"(Mind you I properly introduced them) *insert multiple faces of confusion here* It's a very delicate thing to manage and decide whether it's worth dealing with or not...
Maturity, Growth, Trust and Security are all characteristics that push JEALOUSY out of the way of a loving relationship. There's plenty of men along with women in prison because they were never able to fully embody any of those characteristics. I must tell you this, if a woman makes a man feel secure and he fully trust her then there isn't a man in this world that can ruffle his feathers when that man/men speak to or hug his woman.I really would like to hear from the readers on this topic....
Friday, May 31, 2013
CUFFING SEASON... WHO MADE THIS UP???
ESCO:: You know I've noticed so many talking about cuffing season and now it's over or that they don't do relationships in the Summer... WTH is that about?
SONJA:: Hahahahaha!! GIVE US FREEEEEE!!!! Nigras dont know how to act when the heat come
ESCO:: Lol, so I guess the ish wasn't real from the start...Why even bother if the weather breaking is an indication of single life
SONJA:: That's young minded stuff... Shyyyyyt I aint cuffing this summer lol Holla back in Late Sept/early Oct
ESCO:: Lmao, I guess you're right. There's definitely old hoes tho, don't get it twisted. Sometimes girls just wanna have fun... lol
SONJA:: If I was already with someone then summer wouldnt mean anything. But when you're already single, you wanna weigh them options..And what better season?? :)
ESCO:: My thoughts exactly... the idea of a relationship is tarnished by the masses nowadays
SONJA:: It truly is SMH. Makes it hard to find something REAL and valuable.
ESCO:: I mean REAL is for the most part recognizable
SONJA:: There are alot of good frauds out here..You'd be surprised It doesnt take that long to figure them out but it does happen
ESCO:: Really, I always thought if a guy keeps it 100 from the start then he's good... no? (in my papi voice) Or guys are just not keeping it 100? Women I've come across definitely respect the upfront honest intentions and in turn are usually on the same path
SONJA:: Guys arent keeping it 100 or they say one thing and flip it midway, I respect honesty and consistentcy... too many men cant seem to give those things
ESCO:: Women don't seem to be holding up their end either
SONJA:: Some, not all
ESCO:: O, Of course.... I know for sure that I do my best to keep my word. But.... Once in a blue , when there's nothing to do.... Lol
SONJA:: Trillzzzzzz LOL But seriously I try my hardest to treat others the way I'd want them to treat me
ESCO:: My nigga...
SONJA:: I dont ask for what I cant give
ESCO:: Same here... Funny thing is I rarely ask for anything
SONJA:: ME TOO!!! I just feel ppl should want to do things on their own..like me. smh..messes me up most of the time
ESCO:: Respect, Honor and Loyalty are unspoken characteristics that should be shared.
SONJA:: LORD WHY IS IT SO HARD FOR FOLK TO UNDERSTAND THAT
ESCO:: Word... I mean in any relationship, not only romantic
SONJA:: YES!!! If you cant do that in a platonic relationship, why should I want anything deeper??
ESCO:: My thoughts exactly
Thursday, May 2, 2013
Professional Homosexual Athletes...
Esco: I saw an article on Sports Illustrated... What are your thoughts on a gay NBA player Sonja?
Sonja: I feel his personal lifestyle should have NOTHING to do with his profession. Though I may not fully understand his reason for coming out suddenly, he shouldn't have to hide who he is either. I don't believe he should be shunned for not being "normal", being gay isn't something anyone who chooses to be. There are so many hardships and trials that come along with it that only a fool would WANT to endure that. I RESPECT his honesty and bravery for finally accepting himself for who he is and no longer allowing society to dictate his identity for him. As long as he plays to the best of his abilities, helps his team win and earns his pay, WHO ARE WE TO JUDGE?? If he like it, I love it..What he eat don't make me sh*t *shrugs*
Friday, April 26, 2013
Are You In Control Of Your Child's Attire???
In recent news a New Jersey principal, Sharon Moffat sent out a letter this month, restricting girls from wearing dresses without straps to their eighth grade formal. “Young gentleman are encouraged to wear collared shirts and trousers,” Moffat said in the letter. ”Young ladies should wear a skirt, dress with straps or a dressy pants outfit.”
"The Readington Township School District has a policy regarding dress code, which is being universally applied to the school day and school events,” the school district said in a statement. ”We regret that a small number of families are upset by this, and we welcome their input and communication.”
In my eyes, parents should be able to make that decision. As we both know some parents don't make the best decisions when it comes down to their kids wardrobe these days. I would definitely have no "beef" with this principal... rules are rules, they make the world go round. Besides we are talking about children, eighth graders. The kids will soon enough have the opportunities to be "grown" i.e. junior/senior proms. I'm not at the point where I have this worry yet, when it comes it definitely would be addressed accordingly.
My daughter is constantly asking me for a motorcycle and I have to constantly remind her that she's seven and not seventeen... No direct correlation but you get the point I'm making. Parents, keep your children in their place... you are old way longer than you are young.
Esco, I'm 100% behind this principal. It's about time that someone has used their good sense regarding the outward appearance of these new age kids. The way these children dress, you would think they were raising themselves. I understand that the ultimate decision lies on the parent's shoulders but everyone's idea of "classy and tasteful" is NOT the same (hence why there's a "ghetto prom pics" visual that comes out every year). Sad to say, many parents nowadays are still kids themselves or became parents at a young age so they truly haven't grasped the idea of dressing to par and then there are others who just find dressing kids like adults to be cute . Enough is enough and something has to give. It takes a village to raise these kids and if they won't be taught correctly at home, then set the tone at school. BRAVO PRINCIPAL MOFFAT BRAVO!!!
"The Readington Township School District has a policy regarding dress code, which is being universally applied to the school day and school events,” the school district said in a statement. ”We regret that a small number of families are upset by this, and we welcome their input and communication.”
In my eyes, parents should be able to make that decision. As we both know some parents don't make the best decisions when it comes down to their kids wardrobe these days. I would definitely have no "beef" with this principal... rules are rules, they make the world go round. Besides we are talking about children, eighth graders. The kids will soon enough have the opportunities to be "grown" i.e. junior/senior proms. I'm not at the point where I have this worry yet, when it comes it definitely would be addressed accordingly.
Esco, I'm 100% behind this principal. It's about time that someone has used their good sense regarding the outward appearance of these new age kids. The way these children dress, you would think they were raising themselves. I understand that the ultimate decision lies on the parent's shoulders but everyone's idea of "classy and tasteful" is NOT the same (hence why there's a "ghetto prom pics" visual that comes out every year). Sad to say, many parents nowadays are still kids themselves or became parents at a young age so they truly haven't grasped the idea of dressing to par and then there are others who just find dressing kids like adults to be cute . Enough is enough and something has to give. It takes a village to raise these kids and if they won't be taught correctly at home, then set the tone at school. BRAVO PRINCIPAL MOFFAT BRAVO!!! Thursday, April 11, 2013
DON'T GET CAUGHT LOOKING SILLY THIS SPRING....
Pardon the both of us for leaving you guys hanging last week.... We
were both sick.
As we both recouped, there has been a "heat wave" in Jersey this week which brought some things to our attention in the urban areas. You the reader may be guilty of these things, but ummm you know how a Gemini really feels about opinions... lol (seriously tho)
1) Uggs in any weather warmer than 65 is just a no no... so that means please don't wear them with shorts, skirts or cropped pants.
2) Pedicures should be done throughout the year (my personal opinion). When it's decided to wear sandals or any other shoe exposing your feet, be sure that a pedicure preceded this decision.
3) Sundresses, love them; but but PLEASE shave underarms before wearing them.
4) LACE FRONTS, unfortunately they haven't all the way gone out of style. Wearing these in hot weather is the same as me walking outside with a skully on... Leave them at home on the dresser!!
5) These dresses with the sheer areas, yea they were only made for certain body types. A size large doesn't always mean that it's your body type it was made for.
Let's not leave the fellas out Sco
1) Timbs with shorts..STOP IT! Let those dogs breath..Leave the foolishness to the youngins
2) Tucking your shirt in for the sole purpose of showing the "H" on your Hermes belt..Word son?! I've seen sweaters get tucked in for recognition..If you must do all that,you're not use to having ish and you're trying to attract the attention of people who more than likely cant even pronounce Hermes.
3) Bushy beards..If you don't ACTIVELY practice Islam, c'mon son! It's too hot for all that.. Out here looking like ZZ Top,face smelling like *ss from sweat and hidden food particles all for the sake of fashion, I CANT!
4)Tight jeans/baby tees..Stop walking around with extra large bodies rocking 4T tee shirts! Yall do understand "smedium" isn't a real size right?? And I don't think I have to explain what's wrong with this skinny jean movement..You're a man with parts that need to circulate..If it looks like we both have to do the wiggle shimmy shake to get into our jeans, DEAL OFF and you get a "How you doin?!"
Now let's enjoy this beautiful weather to come and cut down on the fashion foolery this summer..
Each one Teach one :)
As we both recouped, there has been a "heat wave" in Jersey this week which brought some things to our attention in the urban areas. You the reader may be guilty of these things, but ummm you know how a Gemini really feels about opinions... lol (seriously tho)
1) Uggs in any weather warmer than 65 is just a no no... so that means please don't wear them with shorts, skirts or cropped pants.
2) Pedicures should be done throughout the year (my personal opinion). When it's decided to wear sandals or any other shoe exposing your feet, be sure that a pedicure preceded this decision.
3) Sundresses, love them; but but PLEASE shave underarms before wearing them.
4) LACE FRONTS, unfortunately they haven't all the way gone out of style. Wearing these in hot weather is the same as me walking outside with a skully on... Leave them at home on the dresser!!
5) These dresses with the sheer areas, yea they were only made for certain body types. A size large doesn't always mean that it's your body type it was made for.
Let's not leave the fellas out Sco
1) Timbs with shorts..STOP IT! Let those dogs breath..Leave the foolishness to the youngins
2) Tucking your shirt in for the sole purpose of showing the "H" on your Hermes belt..Word son?! I've seen sweaters get tucked in for recognition..If you must do all that,you're not use to having ish and you're trying to attract the attention of people who more than likely cant even pronounce Hermes.
3) Bushy beards..If you don't ACTIVELY practice Islam, c'mon son! It's too hot for all that.. Out here looking like ZZ Top,face smelling like *ss from sweat and hidden food particles all for the sake of fashion, I CANT!
4)Tight jeans/baby tees..Stop walking around with extra large bodies rocking 4T tee shirts! Yall do understand "smedium" isn't a real size right?? And I don't think I have to explain what's wrong with this skinny jean movement..You're a man with parts that need to circulate..If it looks like we both have to do the wiggle shimmy shake to get into our jeans, DEAL OFF and you get a "How you doin?!"
Now let's enjoy this beautiful weather to come and cut down on the fashion foolery this summer..
Each one Teach one :)
Friday, March 29, 2013
Selfish vs Selfless
Sco{ I just re posted a quote by an author "Prose The Writer" on Facebook on selfishness that sparked interest from many... basically stating "I sit and I wonder, do selfish people actually know that they are selfish or is it like having halitosis, where they are so bad, they can't sense it in themselves?" I have sat and wondered this same thing many days and nights as I have been affected by this from family and friends alike. As a child my mom would say " you are too free hearted, one day you'll feel taken advantage of because of your kind heart. Brutha, do things from the heart and never let anyone take advantage." Of course I didn't listen and have been taken advantage of before. It happens once and never happens from the same person ever again(Gemini Ish).
Selfishness is like a disease, the person that possess it has to be told that they are that way. I don't believe they are aware even after being told however... denial. Such experiences include being under paid or not even paid for services, this makes the warmest of hearts grow cold. So at some point you steer clear of those that exhibit selfish behavior. These same people appear ungrateful and soon grow to be lonely as well. It's a domino effect. They learn to only look out for themselves and forever remain that way. Only engaging when it benefits them in some way. One day many years ago, my man Rsonist said to me "This is how I see it, Just as Lauryn Hill put it... Do it from the heart or don't do it. The moment you pay me $5 for my services instead of $50,000 I have lost all respect. I might as well do it for free and keep my dignity." Then there's selfless... the enjoyment of helping others. You still are getting something out of a situation. Is giving really better than receiving? I found an interesting video that compares the two.
Sone{ I believe selfishness stems from being spoiled(beyond childhood years). If you've never had to work and struggle for anything,you grow up expecting.Those who are selfish also learn the ways of manipulation. They have mastered what to say and do to get whatever it is they may want from others. Some are so good at this that the person being taken advantage of doesn't even notice. A lot of the time, feelings can play a big part. If you love a person,you truly only want the best for them. And coming from a woman's standpoint we tend put the feelings of others before ourselves. We're naturally nurturers(most of us) so we always want to make everything better. We can foolishly want to prove a point of being "the one" so we give and give and give while accepting less and less.
Unfortunately Selfishness is a terrible disease. Selfless people who have been affected by the selfish usually stop being so caring and giving to others out of fear that they'll be "played" yet again. It can cause those pure and unexpecting hearts so much pain that they now no longer have a "heart". It's one of those terrible circles of life things that not too many can avoid or bounce back from 100%. Once your kind hearted ways has been taken advantage of, trust that you'll never truly be the same
Selfishness is like a disease, the person that possess it has to be told that they are that way. I don't believe they are aware even after being told however... denial. Such experiences include being under paid or not even paid for services, this makes the warmest of hearts grow cold. So at some point you steer clear of those that exhibit selfish behavior. These same people appear ungrateful and soon grow to be lonely as well. It's a domino effect. They learn to only look out for themselves and forever remain that way. Only engaging when it benefits them in some way. One day many years ago, my man Rsonist said to me "This is how I see it, Just as Lauryn Hill put it... Do it from the heart or don't do it. The moment you pay me $5 for my services instead of $50,000 I have lost all respect. I might as well do it for free and keep my dignity." Then there's selfless... the enjoyment of helping others. You still are getting something out of a situation. Is giving really better than receiving? I found an interesting video that compares the two.
Sone{ I believe selfishness stems from being spoiled(beyond childhood years). If you've never had to work and struggle for anything,you grow up expecting.Those who are selfish also learn the ways of manipulation. They have mastered what to say and do to get whatever it is they may want from others. Some are so good at this that the person being taken advantage of doesn't even notice. A lot of the time, feelings can play a big part. If you love a person,you truly only want the best for them. And coming from a woman's standpoint we tend put the feelings of others before ourselves. We're naturally nurturers(most of us) so we always want to make everything better. We can foolishly want to prove a point of being "the one" so we give and give and give while accepting less and less.
Unfortunately Selfishness is a terrible disease. Selfless people who have been affected by the selfish usually stop being so caring and giving to others out of fear that they'll be "played" yet again. It can cause those pure and unexpecting hearts so much pain that they now no longer have a "heart". It's one of those terrible circles of life things that not too many can avoid or bounce back from 100%. Once your kind hearted ways has been taken advantage of, trust that you'll never truly be the same
Thursday, March 21, 2013
Is Respect Earned??
RE-SPECT (r-spkt)tr.v. re·spect·ed, re·spect·ing, re·spects
1. To feel or show deferential regard for; esteem.2. To avoid violation of or interference with: respect the speed limit.
3. To relate or refer to; concern.n.
1. A feeling of appreciative, often deferential regard; esteem.2. The state of being regarded with honor or esteem.
3. Willingness to show consideration or appreciation.
Sco: Respect... a word used so loosely. "Respect the crown," "Respect my
authority," "Respect my wishes"... you get the picture. While most
believe respect is earned, I am here to tell you that I believe
otherwise. When I meet anyone the respect level is at it's highest
point and remains there. It is then up to those individuals to keep it
that way. So if you have ever had the feeling that I disrespected you
then trust, you made it that way.
Now what would make one think that respect is earned? When
corresponding with certain professionals such as doctors or lawyers
for the first time, at what point did they earn your respect? You
don't know them personally. My point is, why not treat everyone that
cross your path with this same respect? Why would anyone have to earn
it instead of it just being granted.
I am forced to think that those not displaying respect for all have
some type of trust issues. Maybe they have premeditated expectations
to be treated disrespectfully. Granted, we have all been mistreated at
some point by someone. I don't think others actions should dictate how
you present yourself to everyone.
Sone: Esco, I agree with alot of what you said but when does that "respect others" run it's course?? From a young girl I remember being told to respect my elders(which is why I put a handle to friend's parents/aunts/uncles,older co-workers, church family,etc) because I would never be equal to them. I've come to realize that some people take this toooo far. There are some elders who truly believe that since they've roamed this Earth for such a long time, you're EXPECTED to respect them and their actions,views and thoughts but that doesn't mean they must give you the same in return. I've been told off in my younger years by some old folk and it took every fiber of my being not to snap simply because they're an elder but I quickly realized that if you let them know respect goes BOTH ways, things change immediately.
While working in a housing facility, I came across a few angry elders who saw me as a "baby" and felt they would come to that office and talk CRAZY to me. I let them rock for a while when I first got hired but I grew tired fast. I had to tell one tenant "Listen here I show you NOTHING but respect when you come here flipping out but enough is enough! I am NOT a child and furthermore I am NOT YOUR CHILD so you're gonna watch how you speak to me from here on out. Being OLD doesn't give you the right to be DISRESPECTFUL!" She stormed off and came back days later to apologize and we were cool since then.
Some people will step all over you if it's allowed so I take that whole "respect everyone" with a grain of salt. Can I respect you if I don't respect your actions? Or your views simply because you're a person? I can be cordial but respect?? Hmmm..It's a difficult multi-faceted decision that I'm sure everyone will have a different take on.
Be Blessed,
Sonja & Esco
1. To feel or show deferential regard for; esteem.2. To avoid violation of or interference with: respect the speed limit.
3. To relate or refer to; concern.n.
1. A feeling of appreciative, often deferential regard; esteem.2. The state of being regarded with honor or esteem.
3. Willingness to show consideration or appreciation.
Sco: Respect... a word used so loosely. "Respect the crown," "Respect my
authority," "Respect my wishes"... you get the picture. While most
believe respect is earned, I am here to tell you that I believe
otherwise. When I meet anyone the respect level is at it's highest
point and remains there. It is then up to those individuals to keep it
that way. So if you have ever had the feeling that I disrespected you
then trust, you made it that way.
Now what would make one think that respect is earned? When
corresponding with certain professionals such as doctors or lawyers
for the first time, at what point did they earn your respect? You
don't know them personally. My point is, why not treat everyone that
cross your path with this same respect? Why would anyone have to earn
it instead of it just being granted.
I am forced to think that those not displaying respect for all have
some type of trust issues. Maybe they have premeditated expectations
to be treated disrespectfully. Granted, we have all been mistreated at
some point by someone. I don't think others actions should dictate how
you present yourself to everyone.
Sone: Esco, I agree with alot of what you said but when does that "respect others" run it's course?? From a young girl I remember being told to respect my elders(which is why I put a handle to friend's parents/aunts/uncles,older co-workers, church family,etc) because I would never be equal to them. I've come to realize that some people take this toooo far. There are some elders who truly believe that since they've roamed this Earth for such a long time, you're EXPECTED to respect them and their actions,views and thoughts but that doesn't mean they must give you the same in return. I've been told off in my younger years by some old folk and it took every fiber of my being not to snap simply because they're an elder but I quickly realized that if you let them know respect goes BOTH ways, things change immediately.
While working in a housing facility, I came across a few angry elders who saw me as a "baby" and felt they would come to that office and talk CRAZY to me. I let them rock for a while when I first got hired but I grew tired fast. I had to tell one tenant "Listen here I show you NOTHING but respect when you come here flipping out but enough is enough! I am NOT a child and furthermore I am NOT YOUR CHILD so you're gonna watch how you speak to me from here on out. Being OLD doesn't give you the right to be DISRESPECTFUL!" She stormed off and came back days later to apologize and we were cool since then.
Some people will step all over you if it's allowed so I take that whole "respect everyone" with a grain of salt. Can I respect you if I don't respect your actions? Or your views simply because you're a person? I can be cordial but respect?? Hmmm..It's a difficult multi-faceted decision that I'm sure everyone will have a different take on.
Be Blessed,
Sonja & Esco
Thursday, March 14, 2013
KICKING IT WITH SONJA and ESCO
Esco: Chilling.... all day I've been interacting with people having etiquette problems
Be Blessed,
Sonja & Esco
both men and women
Sonja: Guess you got a few signs
Esco: I guess you can blame parents huh?
Sonja: Yes upbringing plays a huge part in my opinion
Esco: to an extent though, because as an adult you have to take initiative to learn at some point
Sonja: I said a huge part not totally..But even as an adult there are certain things we do around our peers that we wont do around our parents because we ultimately know it isn't right
Or we weren't brought up to act or speak in that manner
Esco: For example, I took etiquette classes and even Salsa which sounds ridiculous until I crossed my knife and fork one day at dinner and the waitress knew I was finished eating or even last Summer dancing Salsa with my date at a wedding. Whereas I wouldn't have known these "gentleman like things" without taking initiative to learn. Very true point... what's crazy though is what even has us on this topic. The damn video we both witnessed where a woman was on the toilet giving others advice
Sonja: Ok that's cool but you shouldn't have to take a class for certain things..No one should have to "teach" a female to sit with your legs crossed as an adult or holding the door for women as a man..There are simple small but crucial things you learn as a child. My mother never had to tell me not to videotape myself using the bathroom for me to not do it you know what I mean?? Some things are just a given
I think society has allowed us to become soooo lax that anything goes and it's not cool in my eyes
Esco: O, of course.. agreed. I think it's the lack of or need for ATTENTION
Sonja: I can love a man with all my heart but what I do in the privacy of my 4 bathroom walls WILL NOT be shared with him..EVER
Esco: Live with a man and that will change
Sonja: Same man bigging you up for not giving a F wont be the same man trying to holler..I GUARANTEE THAT!! Nah it wont..I have no doubt about that
Esco: I know I'm certainly not down for some nasty, classless mess like that.
Sonja: Some women take being "one of the boys" to another level that I'm not trying to reach. I'm content with being a lady and shall remain as such. I understand that we're all human but that's no excuse.."Sh*t happens" when you allow it to..Not me said the bee
Esco: That's something you don't hear often and I definitely commend you for maintaining a LADY IMAGE
Sonja: Your image is ultimately all you have..It's a reflection of you AND your upbringing..I'm not trying to be out here shaming my mama lol
Esco: lol, sounding like a young southern girl... that's real though
Sonja: It runs through these veins lol
Esco: So many men aren't displaying etiquette/class as well... i.e. Pants Hanging Off Of The Ass, Calling Women Out Of Their Name. As a man, I think when men do little dumb things and a female "giggles" at it, it's sort of a cosign
Sonja: Yes that's right BUT it's only due to women not DEMANDING better
Esco: truth be told, most men move from the reactions of women
you know, bottle popping... colognes... respect or lack of respect
Sonja: We as women set the tone. If a man can get away with it,he will period point blank
MAJORITY of what men do is based behind women..If only more females can get that through their heads,oh what a different world this would be
Esco: I def agree, can't even front like it's not the truth. The funny thing is that my current FB post is pretty much about the hook "AS LONG AS MY BITCHES LOVE ME" When did women give the ok on the word Bitch??
Sonja: I saw it and I get where you're coming from..And I think alot of women do. But only I can give that word power..If someone who I'm personally connected to uses that word towards me, then I may take it differently but to hear it in song means nothing to me honestly.
Esco: That's nuts to me... women degrade each other and now allow men to do the same. You're not the regular run of the mill Sonja
Sonja: Idk..Everyone will have their own opinion of that word just like the word nigga..It's all about who says it, the context and the emotions it makes you feel when hearing it
Esco: Maybe I'm just old school or everything is just socially acceptable now
Sonja: I wouldn't say everything but it ultimately depends on the person
Esco: I'm not going to keep you though, get your rest
Sonja: Ok..ttys good night
Esco: Night
Be Blessed,
Sonja & Esco
Thursday, March 7, 2013
Social Media... from the minds of two Geminis
So often it is suggested to me that I should write a book or get back to blogging when commenting on social sites. I have even had an author friend stay on my heels about starting my outline. Honestly, there is so much on my mind at all times that I wouldn't know where to begin. As far as the blogging goes; I was more so sharing music, fashion and my honest thought of that morning. These topics are my loves in life but not exactly my make up of my life. I thrive off of experiences.A little background of myself includes being a father, son, brother and a business man. I'm sure you may know someone who also quotes that line from Jay-Z stating they too are a "Business Maaan." If it seems profitable and brings forth growth personally for me, then where do I sign up? As far as business, I have been an auto mechanic by trade and an entertainment manager by blessings. Life is constantly evolving and with each opportunity I do the same. I'm taking this opportunity to enlighten others on my perspective from past or present experiences.
In my experiences with social sites, there has been much that others relate to and much that I can only appreciate. Social sites get so much flack for exposing certain elements of a person or even ruining relationships. How a person is on these sites are not necessarily the actual values a person may possess, as often times the text may not deliver the way intended. Some seek attention while others are very driven to give it. I once posted the question 'Who's thirstier, the woman half naked posing or the two hundred guys that left comments?' I believe people are who they are without the help of others or these sites. Of course some present themselves to be a certain way, but people also do the same in person. Social media has helped me tremendously with certain aspects of business, therefore I tip my hat to those that took their idea and created such sites.
Social sites are great networking and business tools when used wisely. Social networking sites like Facebook, Google+, LinkedIn, Instagram or Twitter can be an effective way to market events, products and public presentations. These sites can also be helpful in selling your art work, posting performances, engaging in discussions with audiences and fans, along with research and development for new opportunities and ideas. Different sites have different purposes, users and functionalities.
This of course is my perspective, now enjoy that of my friend Sonja.
Oh wow after an in depth intro like that,where do I begin? Lol
Much like my friend Esco I too have been told plenty of times to put thoughts on paper or on a blog for others to see. My mind is like an ever changing puzzle, the piece that fit yesterday may not tomorrow. I'm always thinking of the next step, sometimes so much that I don't fully enjoy the now.I'm a college graduate(currently pursuing a master's degree) who's working toward the ultimate goal of opening my own group home. My passion for helping those who can't help themselves pushes me to constantly remain humble and do what I can to help whenever I'm able. Young black girls hold a dear place in my heart because the "world" doesn't allow us to see how great we truly are. The days of "ladies being ladies" have vanished into thin air. Long gone are the times where girls jumped rope, played with dolls and shooed little nosey boys away. I'm only one person but every opportunity I get to empower our babies and even our adults, I will!
Social media does have it's good qualities. I have reconnected with friends I haven't seen since grade school, old crushes I parted ways with many moons ago lol and family I have never met. But for every good thing, there has to be some bad(way of the world). Plenty of these sites have placed people on unrealistic pedestals and given folks this false sense of entitlement. "Likes" have become the new age "yes men". It's given those who don't have a strong sense of self the validation they seek not knowing it can only be found WITHIN self.
I mean don't get me wrong, we women ALL have posed seductively in pics whether you tooting it for the camera or showing some cleavage but if more than half of your photos show this, then there's a problem. If the majority of your posts are geared toward sex, there's a problem. If you expect ANYONE to respect or take you seriously while displaying this, then there's a SERIOUS problem. The quote "Only God Can Judge Me" can only take you but so far. What you SHOW is what you BECOME to others! This all comes back to my passion for empowerment. If they knew better from a young child, they'd definitely do better as an adult.
Signed,
Sonja and Esco
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)






















